Loading Events

« All Events

Postcards from the Edge

April 12 - May 31

From April 12 through July 30, 2019, the Western Arts Agencies of North Carolina (WAANC) will coordinate a unique traveling art display.  Eight arts councils in the region will present Postcards from the Edge, a traveling exhibit of postcard-sized artwork created and donated by area artists to raise awareness and funds in support of the mission of the councils involved.

The traveling Postcards exhibit will feature approximately eighty postcard-sized paintings framed in elegant black frames.  The art will be exhibited in each arts council gallery for at least one month before traveling to the next venue.  The artwork is nominally priced with sales revenue being shared by the presenting arts councils and the Western Arts Agencies.

“Postcards from the Edge” 2019 Schedule:
March & April – Madison County Arts Council & Burke Arts Council
April & May – Asheville Area Arts Council & Caldwell Arts Council
June – Iredell Arts Council & McDowell Arts Council
July – Swain Arts Center & Cherokee County Arts Council

Postcards from the Edge will be on display April 12 – May 31, 2019 in the Front Gallery of the Refinery.

Contributing artists from Buncombe County include: Janice Lape, Zander Stefani, Pam Granger Gale, Cleaster Cotton, David Sheldon, Stefanie Gerber, Pedro Esqueda, Christine Longoria, Gael Perry, Joseph Pearson, Oshin, Merlin, Paige Houghton, and Cheryl Eugenia Barnes.

The mission of the Western Arts Agencies of North Carolina is to strengthen the arts community in Western North Carolina through peer support, shared resources, and collaborative programming.  To accomplish this mission, the Western Arts Agencies works diligently to provide services to member organizations; to provide programs that nurture arts administration professionals and to provide programs which support the work of local arts organizations.  These programs and mission are accomplished through the efforts of a volunteer board consisting of Western North Carolina arts council executive directors.


April 12
May 31